Game Reviews: Warcraft: Orcs & Humans, Myst, Diablo, Dark Sun: Shattered Lands

So I am reviewing a few games here. These are ones that I have already played and I may have covered them before, but doing so again anyway.

Warcraft: Orcs & Humans

My first computer game would have to be Warcraft: Orcs and Humans. I played it on an old-school computer when I was young. I wasn’t any good at it, but I made some attempts. It was fun though and summoning demons was great. Most of the gameplay would get replaced in sequels but its worth playing for anybody who wants to get where World of Warcraft originated from.

The game was a strategy game, where you had to gather resources, construct buildings, and produce units. After that was done, you had to take out the enemy. This game streamlined or set up some standards for it that would be followed by many other games in the same genre. It does look aged but still is fun.

There were two sides to play as with unique units on both sides. Most of the units were just copies of the same unit, like a unit to gather resources, or a mounted unit. The game did the same with buildings. The main differences between the sides were what spells the magic units had and what units the summoning spells gave you.

The missions were fairly linear and progressed well. There were special maps that had you fighting underground or gave you units but no way to make more. This game did work really well though.

Diablo

The first Diablo was my second real game that I played. It happens to be an Role-playing game, and it is quite bloody. You get to play one of three of classes and you spend your time fighting monsters. The second and third games give you 5 classes, while there are expansions for both Diablo and Diablo 2. I know I keep saying it, but you should always pre-research games before buying because you will be able to decide before whether you would allow the game to be used before you get it and find out how impressive it is. There maybe mods available for these games, but I would have to find them to actually know.

This game had an expansion which added a small dungeon, a couple of classes and a few quests for the expansion. It can be replayed some, but it eventually does become less interesting if you do so. There are a lot of quests, but you should get all of them after 2 or 3 play-throughs.

Myst

Myst is a point-n-click adventure that I would suggest strongly because it involves no combat and the entire gist of the game is about solving puzzles. I would encourage patience for this game as some of the puzzles are rather difficult. However, the simply amazing story makes up for that and the worlds explored are very nice looking and will cause you to spend time exploring without solving puzzles. If there is any game that is completely worth getting, this happens to be one of them. After you finished the game, you could keep exploring, although this is if you get a certain ending.

Dark Sun: Shattered Lands

Shattered Lands was AD&D 2nd edition and it played pretty well. I still have the disc plus copyright sheet and I may try playing it again at some point. I moved from 2nd Edition to 3rd Edition though, and so I don’t remember a whole lot about it. The game had you control a party and you helped out slave villages. There were some areas to explore and you had a good number of quests that you could perform. It was a pretty nice game and was quite enjoyable.

One thought on “Game Reviews: Warcraft: Orcs & Humans, Myst, Diablo, Dark Sun: Shattered Lands

  1. The only one of these games I’ve played is Myst and I really loved it. Might just dig it out and play it from the beginning again.

Leave a Reply

